NSW School Holidays 2024

Kidshavingfun

The school holidays in New South Wales for the year 2024 are as follows:

School Holidays Start Date End Date
Autumn 15 April 2024 (Monday) 26 April 2024 (Friday)
Winter 8 July 2024 (Monday) 19 July 2024 (Friday)
Spring 30 September 2024 (Monday) 11 October 2024 (Friday)
Summer (Eastern Division) 23 December 2024 (Monday) 30 January 2025 (Thursday)
Summer (Western Division) 23 December 2024 (Monday) 6 February 2025 (Thursday)

The term dates for the year 2024 are:

Term Division Start Date End Date
1 Eastern 1 February 2024 (Thursday) 12 April 2024 (Friday)
1 Western 6 February 2024 (Tuesday) 12 April 2024 (Friday)
2 Both 29 April 2024 (Monday) 5 July 2024 (Friday)
3 Both 22 July 2024 (Monday) 27 September 2024 (Friday)
4 Both 14 October 2024 (Monday) 20 December 2024 (Friday)

Public holidays in New South Wales for 2024 include:

Public Holiday Date
New Year’s Day Monday, 1 January 2024
Australia Day Friday, 26 January 2024
Good Friday Friday, 29 March 2024
Saturday before Easter Sunday Saturday, 30 March 2024
Easter Sunday Sunday, 31 March 2024
Easter Monday Monday, 1 April 2024
ANZAC Day Thursday, 25 April 2024
King’s Birthday Monday, 10 June 2024
Labour Day Friday, 27 September 2024
Christmas Day Wednesday, 25 December 2024
Boxing Day Thursday, 26 December 2024

Source: https://www.nsw.gov.au/about-nsw/school-holidays

 

Planning to visit Melbourne?

Choosing to stay in Melbourne during the school holidays can be a rewarding decision, particularly when you opt for short-term accommodations such as Mega Style Apartments. These apartments are fully equipped, offering a homely comfort that is ideal for families. Their strategic location near many attractions and amenities like complimentary WiFi, indoor swimming pools, and fitness centers add to the convenience. The short term rentals also provide stunning views of the city, enhancing the holiday experience. It’s advisable to make your bookings early, especially during peak seasons like school holidays, to secure your spot.

 

What is there to do during NSW School Holidays for Kids?

There are numerous activities for kids to do during the school holidays in New South Wales. These include visiting zoos and aquariums, participating in workshops at cultural institutions, exploring gardens, and attending special events and festivals.In New South Wales, there are a variety of activities that kids can enjoy during the school holidays.

  • For animal lovers, the Taronga Western Plains Zoo in Dubbo and the Australian Reptile Park are great options
  • The Merimbula Aquarium is another exciting destination for kids to learn about marine life
  • In Sydney, the SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium and Cockatoo Island are popular attractions
  • The Ian Potter Children’s Wild Play Garden is a wonderful outdoor space for kids to explore
  • Cultural institutions in NSW also offer a range of activities for children. For instance, the Art Gallery of NSW hosts a free shadow-puppet theatre workshop for kids and families, while the Australian Museum holds an annual Dinosaur Festival featuring live science shows, performances, and a brand-new Hologram Dinosaurs experience
  • The State Library of NSW offers a Monster Madness event where kids can design their own monster, and the Museums of History NSW provide a Hyde Park Barracks Kids Audioguide and Trail for an adventure through time
  • Special events and festivals are also held during the school holidays. For example, the Gingerbread Lanes at The Grounds of Alexandria and the Christmas Animal Kingdom at Sydney Zoo are popular events during the summer holidays
  • Other activities include harbour whale watching and a day tour at the Sydney Observatory

As for things to do in Sydney during the school holidays, the city offers a plethora of activities suitable for children of all ages.

 

Information Corner

For more information, you can visit the following sites:

Get A Callback